Land Registry, Microfilm, and Atlas Collection 

Land Registry Abstract Books date from the Crown Patent to the mid 1980s 

Original Townships and Towns of Lanark County

Bathurst Township 
Beckwith Township  
Dalhousie Township                                                                                                           Darling Township                                                                                                                                                                      Drummond Township
Lanark Township                                                                                          Lavant Township                                                                                                                                                Montague Township                                                                                                                                                                          North Burgess Township                                                                                  North Elmsley Township                                                                                                                                                                    North Sherbrooke & South Sherbrooke 
Pakenham Township                                                                                             Ramsay Township                                             
Towns  --  Almonte, Carleton Place, Perth and  Smiths Falls  

A re-alignment of the original townships and towns in Lanark County created the following municipalities in January 1998.

Beckwith Township

Drummond/North Elmsley Township

Lanark Highlands Township (Dalhousie, Darling, Lavant, Lanark, North Sherbrooke)

Mississippi Mills (Town of) (Almonte, Townships of Pakenham and Ramsay)

Tay Valley Township (Bathurst, North Burgess, South Sherbrooke)

Carleton Place


Smiths Falls

Instruments (deeds, transfers, etc.) date from 1865 to 1950
Any Instrument before 1865 or after 1950 may be viewed at the Land Registery Office in Almonte, Ontario.
A charge to see these files may apply

 Microfilm/Microfiche Library

Almonte Gazette 1861-1888, 1921-1970; Carleton Place Herald 1855-1875; Lanark Era 1903-2017; & Perth Courier 1877-2003 

Census, Lanark County 1842-1911
Perth Military Settlement 1816-1822
School Inspectors’ Reports 1850-1870
Scottish-Irish Emigrants 1815-1822
John Geddes Diaries 1907-1966
Church/Parish Records for most United Church Pastoral Charges in the County


   Historical Atlas Collection

Lanark and Renfrew Counties 1880-1881 (H. Belden & Co.)  

Large Walling's 1863 Wall Map, Lanark & Renfrew Counties with property owners

Carleton County

Also Bruce, Elgin, Halton, Haldimand & Norfolk, Lincoln & Welland, Middlesex, Ontario, Peel, Perth, Simcoe, Wellington, Wentworth counties 

Lanark County municipal maps and Town/Village Plans